Shadowland on Silver Beach

WeddingWire Couples' Choice Award Winner badge The Knot Best of Weddings Hall of Fame badge

Shadowland On Silver Beach Reviews

Our couples are thrilled with their experience at Shadowland on Silver Beach.

They have voted us a hall of fame venue for The Knot Best of Weddings and helped us win the WeddingWire Couples’ Choice Awards five years running. Learn more about what made Shadowland on Silver Beach so great for each of them!


“Our wedding in July was absolutely BEAUTIFUL thanks to the help of Charlie Johan at Shadowland. Throughout our planning process, it seemed like our coordinator at the venue was a revolving door, and we were admittedly starting to get frustrated with the lack of communication in those turnovers. But once we got Charlie, he was the most helpful, kind, and patient coordinator! He was incredibly attentive throughout the remainder of our planning process and super helpful the day of! We were lucky enough to get in the day before to decorate, and Charlie was nothing but helpful even helping us set up some of our decor. The day of, there were some issues with our baker getting the cake delivered, and Charlie handled it to the point where none of our guests even noticed! We were honored to be the first wedding he managed on his own; Charlie will always have a special place in our hearts!”

-Alainey R. (October 2023)


“I was so pleased with the care and service I got with Shadowland on Silver Beach. Allie went above and beyond to make sure my day was magical, and I couldn’t have asked for a better experience! Thank you!!”

-Stephanie M. (January 2023)


“We had our wedding reception here 11/5/22 and it was great!!! Setting beautiful, carousel rental a truly unique experience, and staff very professional. Could not be happier with celebrating our marriage here.”

-Keri G. (November 2022)


“The Shadowland was beyond perfect for our wedding. The location is literally right next to the beach which made a beach ceremony super convenient, especially with their free parking for guests. I will also say when you book with the Shadowland, you do not just get a venue, but you truly get a wedding team. They help you plan the floor layout, the timeline, the help with the decoration ideas. You book with them and you hire another helping hand with planning, day of coordination, and full catering service. Even down the the dinnerware and napkins provided, they are truly unique and wonderful. Not to mention their mock wedding event that allows you to try EVERYTHING. Incredible. It was truly, the best day and we are so grateful for the Shadowland and their team!!”

-Alexis Y. (July 2022)


“My husband and I wanted a destination beach wedding, but wanted all of our family there as well. When we found St. Joseph, MI it was like a hidden gem to us & then when we found Shadowland we knew we found the perfect spot to start our forever. Shadowland was the perfect location, being just steps from the beach! Being on the beach, allowed us to sneak out during our reception to get some sunset pictures that turned out amazing!! From beginning to end, planning with Shadowland was made as stress free as possible by their staff! We worked with Rysa & she nailed our wedding day! Rysa, along with the rest of the staff, was very attentive to detail and wanted to do whatever they could to help! At our first sit down in the ballroom, we fell in love with the tall ceilings and big open space, along with those windows & patio out the back!! We were given a pamphlet that had a bunch of different pricing options from food to drinks and they even included vendors in the area that they had worked with before, which was amazing! We weren’t from the area so the fact they were so helpful in that aspect was really nice too! We ended up finding our photographer & other vendors off the list, so it made it super easy. Rysa and their staff was always very quick at responding and attending to our needs/concerns. Perhaps one of my favorite things Shadowland does is their Mock Wedding. It takes place earlier in the year (ours was around March) and it’s an event couples who have chosen Shadowland as their venue get to attend and see what a wedding can be like at the venue. Not only that, but you get to try all the chefs food which makes it easy to choose your meals when you get to taste all the different options! They also had vendors they frequently work come in and show off what they’re about. Vendors included a DJ, a chair and table cover company, the florist that had decorated for the event was there you could talk with, they had a photo booth vendor set up, they had a wine tasting bar so you could sample what wines you’d like..etc. It was just so very helpful, informative, & helped us explore our options! More importantly it got us even more excited for the big day! The day of our wedding we had help from the Shadowland staff getting final things into place and Rysa was there to let us know she was taking care of us and to just go have fun! Towards the end of our reception, she even coordinated ordering pizza from Silver Beach Pizza, which was the perfect way to end an open bar night! Haha. Also, don’t know how I could almost forget they have a carousel!! This was something we didn’t know we wanted, but ended up being so fun and special! We got some really good wedding party pictures on the carousel and it was great for our guests during the cocktail hour! We had so many guests come up to us saying how cool it was! We are so very grateful we chose Shadowland on Silver Beach and we made memories there that will last a lifetime!! 100% recommend them and would do our wedding day all over again with them!!”

-Courtney M. (January 2020)


“I can’t say enough good things about Shadowland and their amazing staff! From initially touring and booking my wedding date with Nicole to working with my planners Jane & Rysa throughout the year leading up to my big day, to executing everything on the day itself, the staff was the best! Shadowland is a beautiful venue for a local or destination wedding, right along the shores of Lake Michigan which makes for great photos! As a bonus, the attached carousel was a hit with guests during cocktail hour! Thank you again Shadowland team for making my wedding so memorable!”

-Rachel D. (September 2019)


“From start to finish, our wedding at Shadowland on Silver Beach was wonderful. Nicole worked with us at the beginning stages of planning and her attention to detail and customer-focused approach makes you feel like you are the only person in the world who is getting married.
We were blessed to work with Jasmine as our wedding coordinator and she was amazing. Jasmine was extremely timely in her responses (even when she was on vacation), supportive, and excited to help the bride with their vision. Even on the day of the wedding, Jasmine remained professional, calm, and accommodating. In addition, we are still receiving compliments on how delicious and well prepared the food was during the reception. Kudos to the chef! Thank you, Shadowland, for providing us with memories for a lifetime!”

-Breanna (September 2019)


“We just recently had our wedding reception at the Shadowland on Silver Beach and it was fantastic! The entire experience from start to finish was a great one. The original meeting with Nicole was very informational and we were provided with documents that answered all of our questions and gave vendor suggestions, which was very helpful. The mock wedding event that they hold is such a great idea and something many of our friends who are wedding planning were jealous of. We found multiple vendors at the mock wedding and were also able to meet other couples and share ideas. Our coordinator was Jasmine and she was amazing! Her energetic attitude is contagious and she made sure that every step of the way was smooth and exciting! She was very responsive and made sure everything was exactly how we wanted it. The venue itself is beautiful and having the ballroom and the patio is a great mix for a wedding reception. The carousel is an added bonus that we would definitely recommend, our guests loved it. Jasmine and everyone at the Shadowland helped make sure our wedding day was one that we will never forget!”

-Kristen H. (August 2019)


“Shadowland was an absolute dream to work with. My husband and I opted to go untraditional and hosted a brunch wedding. The crew at shadowland didn’t miss a beat and totally ran with our ideas. They worked with us on the right customizations to go with our theme. We opted to also have ceremony onsite and it worked out so well. Guests are still raving about how great the food was and how awesome the staff was in accommodating everyone. Shadowland made a potentially stressful process less so with their experience and outside perspectives. They answer so quick and as a bride I can’t begin to describe important that communication is. I’d recommend shadowland to any couple looking for a fun, knowledgeable venue.”

-Amy M. (July 2019)


“Beautiful venue, awesome food, and an amazing team at Shadowland! They went above and beyond during the entire planning process. I did not worry about a thing, Jasmine and her team was all so professional and handled everything! They even went out of their way to get a specialty keg that we requested, that they do not normally carry. If you are thinking about booking this venue, do it, you will not regret it!

-Katie H. (July 2019)


“Got married here in October and it was amazing. Nicole and her staff are so friendly and helpful. They take care of EVERYTHING. The wedding was perfect, I’ve heard so many people say how good the food was, I can’t say enough. Get married here, it won’t disappoint.”

-Steven D. (October 2018)


“My husband and I had our wedding reception at Shadowland on Silver Beach and it was one of the best decisions regarding our wedding! The ballroom was so beautiful and the carousel added a unique and fun touch to our wedding! Our planner at Shadowland was Jasmine, and she made everything incredibly easy, smooth, and as stress free as possible. We were able to attend the Mock Wedding in March of 2018 where we sampled all the food and drink options as well as had the opportunity to ride on the carousel. We sat down with our planner and configured how we wanted the ballroom to look for our reception as well as what drink and meal options we wanted. Everything went perfectly and our wedding reception was everything we had hoped for and more!”

-Nicole D. (August 2018)


Read more reviews for Shadowland on Silver Beach in St. Joseph, MI.